Skip to content

Why I Play the Game?

March 26, 2007

Nick Yee asked this question of respondents recently, and I’m at a loss as to what to say:

When you compare why you liked playing the game when you first started playing with why you like playing the game now, are there differences? What do you think led to those changes? Or would you say your motivations for playing have remained fairly constant over time?

Somehow, I’m now unsure of why I play games in general so much as acknowledge the fact that I simply play games.

Is this gaming ennui?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 29, 2007 9:19 pm

    Found you through the World of Warcraft community on Livejournal… thought I’d take a look at this and comment. πŸ™‚

    Are there differences? Yeah. I first started playing when it was first released because my boyfriend (now ex) at the time was playing, so I wanted to play too. He quickly surpassed me to level 60, while I dwindled in the 40s on about 3 different characters because I couldn’t make up my mind.

    Now I play for fun. Was on a pvp server then, didn’t enjoy getting ganked all the time, so I switched to a pve server with a couple of my friends from FFXI. Both of them quickly hit 60-70 while I’m still in my 20s, lol. :X But I think I’m having more fun this time around than I had before.

    Good luck with your blogging! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

